Super Bowl MVPs by College and Current Conference

Photo courtesy of Dallas Cowboys

On Sunday evening, the Cincinnati Bengals and Los Angeles Rams will meet at SoFi Stadium for Super Bowl LVI.

How the game turns out is anyone’s guess. What we do know is that there will be a winner and an MVP.

Below, we take a look at past Super Bowl MVPs by their college and current conference. In situations where MVPs played for multiple schools, only their final school will be counted toward the tally.

For the schools, we will list them by current conference membership and not their conference at the time the player won MVP. Players who have won multiple Super Bowl MVP awards will be counted for each.

ACC (6)

Florida State (2)
Fred Biletnikoff, WR, Oakland Raiders (Super Bowl XI)

Dexter Jackson, S, Tampa Bay Buccaneers (Super Bowl XXXVII)

Louisville (1)
Deion Branch, WR, New England Patriots (Super Bowl XXXIX)

Miami (2)
Ottis Anderson, RB, New York Giants (Super Bowl XXV)

Ray Lewis, LB, Baltimore Ravens (Super Bowl XXXV)

Syracuse (1)
Larry Csonka, FB, Miami Dolphins (Super Bowl VIII)

American Athletic Conference (1)

Navy (1)
Roger Staubach, QB, Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowl VI)

Big 12 (4)

Kansas (1)
John Riggins, FB, Washington Redskins (Super Bowl XVII)

TCU (1)
Larry Brown, CB, Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowl XXX)

Texas Tech (1)
Patrick Mahomes, QB, Kansas City Chiefs (Super Bowl LV)

West Virginia (1)
Chuck Howley, LB, Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowl V)

Big Ten (11)

Maryland (1)
Randy White, LB, Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowl XII)

Michigan (6)
Desmond Howard, KR/PR, Green Bay Packers (Super Bowl XXXI)

Tom Brady, QB, New England Patriots and Tampa Bay Buccaneers (5, Super Bowls XXXVI, XXXVIII, XLIX, LI and LV)

Ohio State (1)
Santonio Holmes, WR, Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowl XLIII)

Penn State (1)
Franco Harris, RB, Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowl IX)

Purdue (2)
Len Dawson, QB, Kansas City Chiefs (Super Bowl IV)

Drew Brees, QB, New Orleans Saints (Super Bowl XLIV)

Conference USA (2)

Louisiana Tech (2)
Terry Bradshaw, QB, Pittsburgh Steelers (2, Super Bowls XIII and XIV)

Independents (4)

BYU (1)
Steve Young, QB, San Francisco 49ers (Super Bowl XXIX)

Notre Dame (3)
Joe Montana, QB, San Francisco 49ers (3, Super Bowls XVI, XIX and XXIV)

MAC (1)

Kent State (1)
Julian Edelman, WR, New England Patriots (Super Bowl LIII)

Pac-12 (9)

Arizona (1)
Nick Foles, QB, Philadelphia Eagles (Super Bowl LII)

California (1)
Aaron Rodgers, QB, Green Bay Packers (Super Bowl XLV)

Stanford (2)
Jim Plunkett, QB, Oakland Raiders (Super Bowl XV)

John Elway, QB, Denver Broncos (Super Bowl XXXIII)

UCLA (1)
Troy Aikman, QB, Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowl XXVII)

USC (3)
Lynn Swann, WR, Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowl X)

Marcus Allen, RB, Los Angeles Raiders (Super Bowl XVIII)

Malcolm Smith, LB, Seattle Seahawks (Super Bowl XLVIII)

Washington State (1)
Mary Rypien, QB, Washington Redskins (Super Bowl XXVI)

SEC (10)

Alabama (3)
Bart Starr, QB, Green Bay Packers (2, Super Bowls I and II)

Joe Namath, QB, New York Jets (Super Bowl III)

Florida (1)
Emmitt Smith, RB, Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowl XXVIII)

Georgia (3)
Jake Scott, S, Miami Dolphins (Super Bowl VII)

Terrell Davis, RB, Denver Broncos (Super Bowl XXXII)

Hines Ward, WR, Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowl XL)

Ole Miss (1)
Eli Manning, QB, New York Giants (Super Bowls XLII and XLVI)

Tennessee (1)
Peyton Manning, QB, Indianapolis Colts (Super Bowl XLI)

Texas A&M (1)
Von Miller, LB, Denver Broncos (Super Bowl 50)

FCS (7)

Delaware (1)
Joe Flacco, QB, Baltimore Ravens (Super Bowl XLVII)

East Texas State (1)
Harvey Martin, DL, Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowl XII)

Grambling State (1)
Doug Williams, QB, Washington Redskins (Super Bowl XXII)

Mississippi Valley State (1)
Jerry Rice, WR, San Francisco 49ers (Super Bowl XXIII)

Morehead State (1)
Phil Simms, QB, New York Giants (Super Bowl XXI)

Northern Iowa (1)
Kurt Warner, QB, St. Louis Rams (Super Bowl XXXIV)

Tennessee State (1)
Richard Dent, DE, Chicago Bears (Super Bowl XX)