Six prestigious universities join Association of American Universities in latest expansion

Logo from AAU Twitter

The Association of American Universities (AAU) has welcomed six new members, namely Arizona State University, the George Washington University, the University of California, Riverside, the University of Miami, the University of Notre Dame, and the University of South Florida. This addition bolsters AAU’s membership to a total of 71 institutions, comprising 69 American and two Canadian universities.

AAU President Barbara R. Snyder expressed pride in welcoming these prestigious universities from different parts of the United States. Snyder noted the significance of Arizona State and UC Riverside being Hispanic-serving institutions, with both universities accommodating a considerable share of Hispanic-background students. Additionally, UC Riverside is an Asian American and Native American Pacific Islander-serving institution.

AAU Board Chair and University of Southern California President Carol L. Folt shared her excitement in inviting these diverse institutions to AAU. She highlighted that AAU membership represents high-quality education and research. Folt believes the growth of leading research universities across the country showcases the strength of the higher education system.

Folt congratulated faculty, staff, and students from the new member institutions for their hard work, leadership in research and education, and achievements. The joint efforts among the AAU members will continue to enable the transformation of lives through higher education.