What was deemed to be an offensive showdown turned into an offensive beat down by the Bayou Bengals. Tonight’s national championship win is the first for LSU since 2007 under Les Miles, and fourth total. This national championship may have featured the greatest offense of the college football playoff era.


Fast Facts

  • LSU QB Joe Burrow broke the FBS single season passing touchdown record in tonight’s national championship. The previous record was 58 passing Touchdowns from Hawaii’s Colt Brennan.
  • 628 Yards of Total Offense for LSU
  • LSU becomes the first #1 seed in the college football playoff era to win the national championship
  • LSU has now won four national championships, and all four championship runs ended in New Orleans Louisiana



All season long analyst have raved over LSU passing game coordinator Joe Brady and the NFL scheme he has brought to the College game. Just like everyone else this season The Clemson Tigers had no answers for these NFL esque schemes. Joe Burrow was responsible for 449 passing yards and 221 of them went to Biletnikoff award winner Ja’Marr Chase.

The LSU defense deserves a lot of credit as well. They held Trevor Lawrence to under 50% passing completion and Travis Etienne to under 100 rushing yards.

The bottom line is, the playmakers for LSU showed up, while Clemson faded away. The coaching staff of LSU coached circles around Clemson tonight.


Instant Reactions


We would love to see your reactions to the game within our community. You can find us in our Discord Group Chat or Message Board Forum!


Fifth Quarter Discord


Fifth Quarter Forum