Photo courtesy of Major League Baseball

The wait is nearly over.

The Major League Baseball season is set to officially get underway on Thursday. Due to COVID-19, it will be a shortened 60-game season. Unlike in years past, every team is in the mix in late-July.

A number of teams have had recent success while fans in some cities have had it rough. As the abbreviated season is set to get underway, here’s a look at the five longest playoff droughts in baseball:

5. Philadelphia Phillies (2011)

The Philadelphia Phillies won the National League East in four straight seasons from 2008 to 2011. They also claimed two pennants and one World Series title over that stretch. They unfortunately have not had a winning season since. Philadelphia led its division through May last season, but fizzled late. The Phillies went just 3-9 in their last 12 games last season to finish 81-81 and miss out on their first winning seasons since 2011.

4. Chicago White Sox (2008)

The 2005 World Series champions, the Chicago White Sox haven’t had a winning season since 2012 nor made the postseason since 2008. That year, the White Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays in the American League Division Series in four games. The closest that the White Sox have come since was in 2012 when they finished three games back of the Detroit Tigers in the American League Central.

3. San Diego Padres (2006)

The San Diego Padres won the National League West in consecutive seasons in 2005 and 2006, but have not made the postseason since. San Diego looked to be a shoo-in for the National League Wild Card in 2007, but couldn’t hold a 4.5-game lead over the Colorado Rockies with 10 days left in the season. Colorado beat the Padres in extra innings of a 1-game playoff en route to the National League pennant. The Padres finished a game behind the Atlanta Braves for the Wild Card in 2010, but haven’t had a winning season since.

2. Miami Marlins (2003)

In 27 years as a franchise, the Miami Marlins have made the postseason just twice. In both of those seasons however, the Marlins won the World Series. The Marlins haven’t made the playoffs since stunning the New York Yankees in the 2003 World Series in six games. The Marlins haven’t had a winning season since 2009 when they were the Florida Marlins.

1. Seattle Mariners (2001)

In 2001, the Seattle Mariners set a Major League Baseball record with 116 wins. The Mariners would go on to be upset by the New York Yankees in the American League Championship Series and have not been back to the playoffs since. Seattle has had seven winning seasons in the 18 years since, but have failed to make the postseason. The closest that Seattle has come since was in 2014 when the Mariners finished a game back of the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim for the final Wild Card spot in the American League.

Mike Ferguson is the associate editor for Fifth Quarter. Be sure to follow Mike on Twitter at @MikeWFerguson. Follow all of Mike’s work by liking his Facebook page.