By the Numbers: The Last SEC Title and Total Number for Each Current Program

With college football starting in two weeks, we are going to look at every Power 5 conference and when each current team last won that conference.

We start with the premier conference in the sport — the SEC. Below, we look at the last time that each of the 14 schools won the conference and the total number of SEC titles for each.

Some of the numbers may be surprising. There is a good percentage of the conference that has never won a championship.

In 2022, the SEC will host its 31st conference championship game. The conference itself has been around since 1933.

Have a look:

Last SEC title for each current program

Alabama: 2021

LSU: 2019

Georgia: 2017

Auburn: 2013

Florida: 2008

Tennessee: 1998

Kentucky: 1976

Ole Miss: 1963

Mississippi State: 1941

Arkansas: Never

Missouri: Never

South Carolina: Never

Texas A&M: Never

Vanderbilt: Never

Number of SEC titles for each current program

Alabama: 28

Georgia: 13

Tennessee: 13

LSU: 12

Florida: 8

Auburn: 7

Ole Miss: 6

Kentucky: 2

Mississippi State: 1

Arkansas: 0

Missouri: 0

South Carolina: 0

Texas A&M: 0

Vanderbilt: 0

Perhaps most impressive — or surprising — is how strong of a football history Tennessee has. The Volunteers have not won the SEC this millennium and still rank No. 2 when it comes to most SEC crowns.

Vanderbilt, a charter member of the SEC, has never won the conference. It may never win it in anyone reading this article’s lifetime.

It will be interesting to see which of the four newest members will be first to win the conference. South Carolina and Arkansas were added in the early 1990s, while Missouri and Texas A&M joined the conference in 2012.

Arkansas reached the SEC Championship in 1995, 2002 and 2006, but fell in Atlanta each time. South Carolina was blasted by eventual national champion Auburn in the SEC Championship in 2010 — its lone appearance. Missouri reached the SEC Championship in its second and third season as a member of the conference — 2013 and 2014 — but also fell each time in Atlanta.

With the college football season only a few weeks away, who will win the SEC in 2022? Let us know in the comments section.

Featured image courtesy of Alabama athletics