Home 40-Year Nole Anniversary: FSU Baseball Blasts Tulane Twice to Repeat as Metro Champs

40-Year Nole Anniversary: FSU Baseball Blasts Tulane Twice to Repeat as Metro Champs

by Mike Ferguson

Photo courtesy of NoleFan.org

Death, taxes, Florida State baseball winning the Metro Conference.

That was the case in the 1980’s. On this day 40 years ago, FSU needed two wins in one day over Tulane to win its second straight Metro Tournament title. It did so by a combined score of 37-9.

Setting the Stage

After winning the conference the year prior, FSU was the No. 3 seed in the Metro Tournament in 1981. The Seminoles collected easy wins over Saint Louis and Memphis State to kick off the tournament, but hit a stumbling block on day three with a 6-2 loss to Tulane.

After beating Memphis State in an elimination game, FSU arrived in Tallahassee on May 17, 1981 needing two wins over the Green Wave to win a second straight conference title. To that point in the tournament, Tulane was a perfect 3-0.

A Day of Domination

Throughout the day, Florida State never trailed. The first game saw the Seminoles score a season-high 22 runs in a 22-4 beatdown of the Green Wave.

FSU scored runs in six of the eight innings in which it batted, including five in the second, six in the fourth and four each in the fifth and sixth. Don DeLoach and Mike Yastrzemski each homered for the Seminoles. Each, along with third baseman Rick Figueredo, plated three runs.

Catcher Craig Ramsey was 3-for-4 with four RBIs. Mike Fuentes was 4-for-5 with two RBIs and three runs scored. On the mound, Ken Fischer allowed three runs, two earned, in seven innings to pick up the win.

In the second game, FSU felt a bit more resistance early, but that was short-lived as it cruised to a 15-5 victory. After each team scored three runs in the first inning, the Seminoles blew things open with six runs in the second, three in the third and one in the fourth.

Yastrzemski, Mark Lacy, Ramsey and Figueredo all left the yard for FSU. Yastrzemski, Joe Licata and Figueredo each finished with three RBIs. Reliever Jamey Shouppe worked the final four innings for FSU, where he allowed just two hits and no runs.

In Hindsight

With the win, FSU claimed its second straight Metro title and third in five years. Tulane would bounce back to win the 1982 Metro Tournament before the Seminoles rattled off nine straight to conclude their stay in the conference.

As for the 1981 team, FSU would go to lose in a regional in Miami. Although the Seminoles fell short of Omaha in Mike Martin’s second season, they did claim a Metro title. It happened on this day four decades ago.



Mike Ferguson is the managing editor for Fifth Quarter. Be sure to follow Mike on Twitter at @MikeWFerguson. Follow all of Mike’s work by liking his Facebook page.

Leave a Reply