Photo courtesy of Pittsburgh athletics

The college football regular season has concluded and once again Clemson has been crowned as the ACC champion.

However, there are several individual performers around the league who have been vital to their team’s success. Here are our awards for the 2020 ACC football season:

Coach of the Year: Dave Doeren (NC State)

In the preseason, NC State was picked by the media to finish in the bottom third of the conference. Add on the injury to an emerging star quarterback and the expectations were extremely low. Doeren, nonetheless, led his team to an 8-3 record with losses to only teams that were ranked at the time.

Jeff Hafley also deserves an honorable mention. The NFL mind completely transformed the scheme at Boston College and brought the Eagles a winning season in his first year.

Offensive Player of the Year: Trevor Lawrence (QB, Clemson)

Lawrence missed two games but it is clear that he is the most valuable player in the conference — if not the country. North Carolina’s Sam Howell was a tempting pick since he averaged more yards per attempt and had a higher adjusted completion percentage.

Howell turned the ball over at a higher rate though and took many more sacks. Overall this year, the Clemson signal caller finished with 2,753 passing yards, 29 total touchdowns, and just four interceptions.

Defensive Player of the Year: Rashad Weaver (DE, Pittsburgh)

Weaver went vastly under-the-radar after an injury forced him to miss the 2019 season. Still, he returned stronger than ever and solidified himself as a premier NFL prospect. Weaver led the conference in total pressures, sacks, and forced three fumbles this year.

NC State nose tackle Alim McNeill also deserves consideration. McNeill was the only ACC defensive player to earn a Pro Football Focus grade of 90 or above and missed just one tackle this year.

Virginia linebacker Nick Jackson is a dark-horse pick. In addition to five sacks, he led the conference in run stops, tackling efficiency, and was stout in coverage as well.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Jahmyr Gibbs (RB, Georgia Tech)

Gibbs made an immediate impact in every facet of the game during his true freshman season. As a rusher, Gibbs accounted for 567 yards and 5.2 yards per attempt. He also caught 23 of 28 targets for 301 yards. In total, Gibbs had 51 avoided tackles.

Jordan Addison was also a key piece to Pitt’s offense during his rookie season. He led the team with 60 receptions and 662 yards.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Myles Murphy (DE, Clemson)

Murphy was a problem for offensive lines right away. He compiled five sacks while forcing three fumbles and not missing a single tackle all season.  Murphy was the only freshman on defense to have an overall grade above 80.

Dorian Strong played lockdown coverage in a depleted Virginia Tech secondary and also deserves recognition.

All-Conference Teams:

First Team Second Team Third Team
QB Trevor Lawrence (Clemson) Sam Howell (North Carolina) D’Eriq King (Miami)
RB Michael Carter (North Carolina) Travis Etienne (Clemson) Kyren Williams (Notre Dame)
RB Khalil Herbert (Virginia Tech) Javonte Williams (North Carolina) Mateo Durant (Duke)
WR Dyami Brown (North Carolina) Dez Fitzpatrick (Louisville) Jaquarii Roberson (Wake Forest)
WR Amari Rodgers (Clemson) Zay Flowers (Boston College) Cornell Powell (Clemson)
TE Hunter Long (Boston College) Brevin Jordan (Miami) Tony Poljan (Virginia)
OT Christian Darrisaw (Virginia Tech) Jackson Carman (Clemson) Robert Hainsey (Notre Dame)
OG Aaron Banks (Notre Dame) Dillon Reinkensmeyer (Virginia) Je’Vionte’ Nash (Wake Forest)
OC Grant Gibson (NC State) Cole Bentley (Louisville) Jimmy Morrissey (Pittsburgh)
OG Doug Nester (Virginia Tech) Caleb Chandler (Louisville) Bryce Hargrove (Pittsburgh)
OT Liam Eichenberg (Notre Dame) Ikem Ekwonu (NC State) Luke Tenuta (Virginia Tech)
ED Rashad Weaver (Pittsburgh) Jaelen Phillips (Miami) Quincy Roche (Miami)
DI Alim McNeill (NC State) Calijah Kancey (Pittsburgh) McKinley Williams (Syracuse)
DI Jared Goldwire (Louisville) Derrick Tangelo (Duke) Chibueze Onkuwa (Boston College)
ED Victor Dimukeje (Duke) Patrick Jones (Pittsburgh) Daniel Joseph (NC State)
LB Nick Jackson (Virginia) Cam Bright (Pittsburgh) Baylon Spector (Clemson)
LB Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah (Notre Dame) Chazz Surratt (North Carolina) Zane Zandier (Virginia)
LB Rayshard Ashby (Virginia Tech) Payton Wilson (NC State) Isaiah Moore (NC State)
CB Asante Samuel Jr. (Florida State) Josh DeBerry (Boston College) Nick McLoud (Notre Dame)
CB Ifeatu Melifonwu (Syracuse) Ja’Sir Taylor (Wake Forest) Michael Carter (Duke)
S Nolan Turner (Clemson) Divine Deablo (Virginia Tech) Paris Ford (Pittsburgh)
S Kyle Hamilton (Notre Dame) Deon Jones (Boston College) Juanyeh Thomas (Georgia Tech)
K Jose Borregales (Miami) Brian Johnson (Virginia Tech) B.T. Potter (Clemson)
P Pressley Harvin (Georgia Tech) Lou Hedley (Miami) Trenton Gill (NC State)
RET Nykiem Johnson (Syracuse) D.J. Turner (Pittsburgh) Jaelen Gill (Boston College)